

Engineering House 11 National Circuit Barton ACT 2600 Phone (02) 6270 6555 Fax (02) 6273 2358

Media Release

Tuesday 8 December 2009

Seven finalists announced for the Australian Construction Achievement Award 2010

Seven projects have been selected as outstanding examples of construction excellence to compete for the *Australian Construction Achievement Award 2010*. The winner will be announced at a gala dinner, hosted by Mr Wal King, President of the Australian Constructors Association and Professor Doug Hargreaves, National President of Engineers Australia, in Brisbane on 20 May 2010.

Since the Australian Construction Achievement Award was established in 1997, as a joint venture between the Australian Constructors Association and Engineers Australia, 68 of Australia's best building and engineering projects have made it to the finalist round.

The ACAA 2010 finalists are:

Bogong Hydro Electric Scheme, VIC - McConnell Dowell Constructors (Aust) P/L.

Green Square Corporate Office Park, Brisbane - Leighton Contractors P/L.

Karuah to Bulahdelah Pacific Highway Upgrade, NSW - Abigroup Contractors P/L.

Melbourne Convention Centre Project - Brookfield Multiplex Constructions P/L.

New Perth Bunbury Highway, WA - Southern Gateway Alliance.

One Shelley Street, King Street Wharf, Sydney – *Brookfield Multiplex Constructions P/L.*

The Kurilpa Bridge - Brisbane - Baulderstone P/L.

Summaries and pictures of each of the projects are available at www.acaa.net.au .

Speaking at the announcement of the finalists, Professor Doug Hargreaves, National President of Engineers Australia said, "Each of the entrants represents the project team of a contractor, a joint venture or an alliance that has produced a wonderful piece of infrastructure, and each team is justly proud of its achievement."

"Early in 2010, each project will be visited by the ACAA judging panel and each member of the panel brings to the task a life in construction that has equipped them to make the most demanding analysis of the finalists for this Award."



Engineering House 11 National Circuit Barton ACT 2600 Phone (02) 6270 6555 Fax (02) 6273 2358

The Chairman of the ACAA 2010 Judging Panel is Professor Mike Dureau. Mike is a former Managing Director of ALSTOM Power. In January 2003 Mike was appointed by The Senate of the University of Sydney as an Adjunct Professor of Engineering and following his retirement from ALSTOM, he accepted the position of Executive Director of The Warren Centre for Advanced Engineering. In 2007 Mike was also elected as Chairman of the Board of The Warren Centre. Mike has previously served as a member of the Judging Panel for the Australian Construction Achievement Award.

Joining the panel is Professor Martin Betts is who Executive Dean - Faculty of Built Environment and Engineering, Queensland University of Technology (QUT). Prior to taking up this position Martin was Professor - Construction IT, at University of Salford in the UK from 1996 to 2003. In 2007 Martin was recognized as one of the Top 100 of Australia's most influential engineers.

The third panelist is Mr Ron Finlay who is a lawyer and chief executive of Finlay Consulting with over 35 years experience in property, construction, development and infrastructure projects. Ron is a director and chair of the New South Wales Transport Infrastructure Development Corporation which has over \$10 billion of transport projects under management. Ron also acts as an independent Chairman on a number of Government and private sector Project Control Groups and Dispute Resolution Boards for major projects.

Professor Dureau said, "This year's finalists have again demonstrated that there is some fantastic innovation and very imaginative engineering teams on show around Australia and the profession should be very proud."

Previous winners of the ACAA have been: EastLink, Melbourne (2009); Perth Seawater Desalination Project (2008); Southern Cross Station, Melbourne (2007); Runway Main Construction Works, Tullamarine (2006); The Bond, Sydney (2005); Alice Springs to Darwin Rail Link (2004); Brisbane's Inner City Bypass project (2003); Woronara Bridge in NSW (2002); Queensland Clean Fuels project (2001); and Stadium Australia in Sydney (2000); Wandoo B Offshore Oil Platform, WA (1998); and the Glebe Island Bridge, now ANZAC Bridge, Sydney (1997).

The Australian Constructors Association member companies have a combined annual revenue in excess of \$A39 billion and collectively employ nearly 90,000 people in their Australian and international operations. Engineers Australia is the peak representative body for the engineering profession in Australia with a membership of almost 90,000.

The announcement of the finalists was made at reception yesterday evening in Sydney, attended by key construction, engineering and corporate sector representatives, entrants and previous winners at the offices of an ACAA 10 sponsor, Blake Dawson.

<u>Further information:</u> John Bright – 0407 234 490 / <u>jbright@engineersaustralia.org.au</u> **www.acaa.net.au**