

ENGINEERING HOUSE 11 NATIONAL CIRCUIT BARTON ACT 2600 TEL: 02 6270 6555

FAX: 02 6273 2358 www.acaa.net.au

## Media Release

Thursday 2 December 2010

## Seven finalists announced for the **Australian Construction Achievement Award 2011**

Seven projects have been selected as outstanding examples of construction excellence to compete for the Australian Construction Achievement Award 2011 (ACAA 2011). The announcement of the finalists was made in Sydney today by Mr Wal King AO, President of the Australian Constructors Association. The winner will be announced at the ACAA 2011 dinner in Melbourne on 19 May 2011.

Since the Australian Construction Achievement Award was established in 1997, as a joint venture between the Australian Constructors Association and Engineers Australia, 75 of Australia's best building and engineering projects have made it to the finalist round.

The ACAA 2011 finalists are:

Abbot Point Coal Terminal X50 Project, QLD - John Holland.

ANZ Centre, VIC - Lend Lease.

Clem Jones Tunnel (CLEM 7), QLD - Leighton Contractors Baulderstone Bilfinger Berger Joint Venture.

Northern Expressway, SA – Fulton Hogan and York Civil.

Robina to Varsity Lakes Track Extension, QLD - TrackStar Alliance.

Sydney Desalination Plant, NSW - John Holland and Veolia Water Joint Venture.

West Gate Freeway Upgrade, VIC - West Gate Freeway Alliance.

Early in 2011, each project will be visited by the ACAA judging panel and each member of the panel brings to the task a life in construction that has equipped them to make the most demanding analysis of the finalists for this Award.

The Chairman of the ACAA 2011 Judging Panel is Mr Dick Kell AM. Dick has been as a consulting engineer and project manager in infrastructure engineering in the private sector - many years as Managing Director and lately Chairman of Cardno. Dick is a Past President of the Association of Consulting Engineers Australia (now Consult Australia) and a former President of the World Federation of Consulting





















ENGINEERING HOUSE 11 NATIONAL CIRCUIT BARTON ACT 2600 TEL: 02 6270 6555

FAX: 02 6273 2358 www.acaa.net.au

Engineers (FIDIC). Dick Kell received the award of Member of the Order of Australia (AM) in 1998 for services to engineering, particularly bridge engineering and international affairs. Dick has previously served as a member of the Judging Panel for the Australian Construction Achievement Award. for the 2003 Award won by the Brisbane Inner City Bypass.

Joining the panel is Mr Peter Stewart. Peter has 40 years experience in the civil engineering construction industry. Peter was honoured with the Australian Civil Engineer of the Year Award in 2005 for his contribution to civil engineering across Australia. Peter has provided design coordination for several significant projects in Australia, the most notable being the Australian Construction Achievement Award winning Woronora Bridge in 2002 and the Lawrence Hargrave Drive or Sea Cliff Bridge, as it is now known which was an Award finalist in 2006. Peter is also Chairman of the National Committee for Construction Engineers and has been a member of the Australian Construction Achievement Award management committee for a number of years.

The third member of the judging panel is Mr Graham Easton. Graham spent the first part of his career in the engineering and construction industry, first as a construction engineer on civil engineering works, and later as a consultant and academic in the area of construction management. He has lectured and published papers on many topics in construction engineering, contract administration, project management, construction claims and dispute resolution. Since 1984, Graham has been engaged as an adviser and adjudicator in the resolution of commercial disputes, particularly in the areas of engineering, building and mining.

Previous winners of the ACAA have been: Melbourne Convention Centre (2010), EastLink, Melbourne (2009); Perth Seawater Desalination Project (2008); Southern Cross Station, Melbourne (2007); Runway Main Construction Works, Tullamarine (2006); The Bond, Sydney (2005); Alice Springs to Darwin Rail Link (2004); Brisbane's Inner City Bypass project (2003); Woronara Bridge in NSW (2002); Queensland Clean Fuels project (2001); and Stadium Australia in Sydney (2000); Wandoo B Offshore Oil Platform, WA (1998); and the Glebe Island Bridge, now ANZAC Bridge, Sydney (1997).

The Australian Constructors Association member companies have a combined annual revenue in excess of \$A39 billion and collectively employ nearly 90,000 people in their Australian and international operations. Engineers Australia is the peak representative body for the engineering profession in Australia with a membership of 93,000.

Summaries and pictures of each of the projects are available at <a href="www.acaa.net.au">www.acaa.net.au</a> .

<u>Further information:</u> John Bright – 0407 234 490 / <u>ibright@engineersaustralia.org.au</u> www.acaa.net.au

















